top of page
  • Samson Omale

TotalEnergies AFCON, Cameroon 2021: Groups Revealed

The TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations, Cameroon 2021 will take place from 9 January to 6 February 2022.

Following the draw for the final tournament held in Yaoundé on Tuesday 17 August, the 24 qualified teams were divided into four groups.

The opening match will pit tournament host and five-time Africa Cup of Nations winners Cameroon against Burkina Faso, runners-up of 2013 AFCON.

This is the moment everyone has been waiting for! And there were many stars present at this highly decisive meeting for the protagonists of the most popular continental soap opera.

CAF President, Dr Patrice Motsepe was in the front row to attend the draw, as well as the COCAN President and Minister of Sports of Cameroon, Prof. Narcisse Mouelle Kombi.

The start of the show was given all in music by the artist composer and performer Salatiel, author of "Ca se passe ici". Cameroon's cultural diversity was also presented through local dance choreographies.

AFCON groups :

Group A : Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Ethiopie, Cape Verde

Group B : Senegal, Zimbabwe, Guinee, Malawi

Group C : Morocco, Ghana, Comoros, Gabon

Group D : Nigeria, Egypt, Sudan, Guinea-Bissau

Group E : Algeria, Sierra-Leone, Equatorial Guinea, Côte d'Ivoire

Group F : Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Gambia

Five main cities were selected as hosts of the tournament, namely Douala and its Japoma Stadium, Yaoundé and its Ahmadou Ahidjo and Olembé Stadiums, Bafoussam and its Kouekong Stadium, Garoua and its Roumdé-Adjia Stadium and finally the Limbe-Buea venue which houses the Limbe Omnisport Stadium.

7 views0 comments


bottom of page